2010 Ed Block Courage Award Winner: Heath Evans

Posted on February 18, 2011

The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation will celebrate the 33nd annual Ed Block Courage Awards March 8 at Martin's West. One player from every NFL team will be honored for his commitment to the principles of courage and sportsmanship while serving as an inspiration in the locker rooms and community. In anticipation of the big night, PressBox is profiling each award winner. Click here for more profiles.

Fullback Heath Evans has been named the New Orleans Saints'  2010 Ed Block Courage Award winner.

Evans, a 10th-year player, returned to the field this summer after suffering a season-ending ACL tear in his right knee in October 2009. He showed determination and dedication in his rehab and was on the field when the team opened training camp.
He played in all 16 games this season, capping his comeback by catching a touchdown pass in his home state of Florida in the team’s 31-6 win at Tampa Bay.

Evans is hosting his third annual celebrity softball game in Jupiter, Fla., tonight to benefit the Heath Evans Foundation, which aides victims of childhood sexual abuse.

Posted Feb. 18, 2011

next up:

Orioles Sign Guerrero To One-Year Deal

February 18, 2011


Baltimore Top Stories

PressBox In Print

Read all the articles and columns from PressBox's April 2014 print edition.


Ravens have addressed some offseason concerns, thanks to a robust free-agent crop.


PressBox tracks how some of the area's top lacrosse players are faring at the collegiate level.


Get PressBox's Free Weekly Newsletter


For Sports Fans

Enter To Win

Enter to win a Washington Wizards replica jersey autographed by Otto Porter.

PressBox Lax Weekly

Sign up for our new weekly high school lacrosse email, with key matchups, recruiting and more.

Summer Camp Guide

Check out PressBox's 2014 Summer Camp Guide for local sports camps.

Second Thursday Lunch

Baltimore's sports experts and icons in a series of lunches by sports fans, for sports fans