navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

You have to have a valid membership to attend this event

You have to have a valid membership to attend this event

2010 Ed Block Courage Award Winner: Justin Smith

The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation will celebrate the 33nd annual Ed Block Courage Awards March 8 at Martin's West. One player from every NFL team will be honored for his commitment to the principles of courage and sportsmanship while serving as an inspiration in the locker rooms and community. In anticipation of the big night, PressBox is profiling each award winner. Click here for more profiles.

DT Justin Smith has been named the San Francisco 49ers' recipient of the 2010 Ed Block Courage Award, which is given annually to a player on each NFL team by his teammates, for representing courage and leadership in the face of adversity. Smith has started 155-straight games. It's by far the longest starting streak of any NFL defensive lineman. The Dallas Cowboys' Jay Ratliff is second with 48-consecutive starts. Smith was also the recipient of the 2010 San Francisco 49ers Perry/Yonamine unity award, given to a player for his outstanding community achievements of the year.

Posted Feb. 23, 2011