2010 Ed Block Courage Award Winner: Jason Hanson

Posted on February 28, 2011

The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation will celebrate the 33nd annual Ed Block Courage Awards March 8 at Martin's West. One player from every NFL team will be honored for his commitment to the principles of courage and sportsmanship while serving as an inspiration in the locker rooms and community. In anticipation of the big night, PressBox is profiling each award winner. Click here for more profiles.

K Jason Hanson has been selected the Detroit Lions’ 2010 recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award. 

A Lions’ second-round draft pick in 1992, the 19-year veteran Hanson is on the threshold of setting an NFL record for longevity.  He has played in 295 Lions’ games, just one game shy of tying Bruce Matthews (Houston Oilers/Tennessee Titans) for most games played by a player with the same franchise. Hanson ranks first in every statistical category for a place-kicker in Lions’ history with longest field goal (56), field goals made (439) and attempted (536), and extra points made (573) and attempted (581). 

He is the Lions’ all-time leader in scoring with 1,890 points and ranks seventh overall in NFL history.  His 45 field goals of 50 or more yards is also an NFL record.  In 2008 he joined Eddie Murray as the place-kickers on the Lions’ 75th Season All-Time Team. However, all of the games played and the records set have not come without adversity and injury.

In 2009, Hanson overcame an injury to his left knee that required arthroscopic surgery during training camp but he was ready for the regular season and played in all 16 games.  During training camp this summer he injured his right knee that required arthroscopic surgery but, again, he was ready to go when the regular season kicked off. Eight games into this season, Hanson sustained another injury to his right knee while attempting a field goal that sent him to the sidelines in the Lions-New York Jets game (November 7).  

He is currently undergoing treatments and is on target to return to the lineup soon. 

“Jason is a veteran player who exhibits all of the true characteristics that epitomize the foundations of this award,” praised Lions’ coordinator of athletic medicine Dean Kleinschmidt.  “He has longevity, toughness and works so hard at being the very best he can be at anything he does including coming back from injury.  He is a rehab warrior both physically and mentally.

“He actually challenges us when he comes in for treatments to find new, better ways to get him back on the field as quickly and safely as possible.  He is a real pro and as tough of a competitor as you’ll find.”

next up:

Maryland's Big Dance Chance Slipping Away

February 28, 2011


Baltimore Top Stories

Mosley Misses Out

C.J. Mosley lost out to Aaron Donald for Defensive Rookie of the Year honors.

Orioles Look to 2015

Paul Folkemer says plenty of optimism was in the air at Orioles FanFest Jan. 31.

Defensive Struggles

During their last three games, the Terps allowed opponents to shoot 53 percent from the field.


Some predictions Orioles players and coaches made last year at FanFest didn't quite pan out.


PressBox experts and friends weigh in with their predictions for Super Bowl XLIX.


The Orioles bolstered their outfield depth Jan. 27, acquiring Travis Snider from the Pirates.


New England-Seattle matchup is only fifth Super Bowl between top seeds in each conference.


If Torrey Smith leaves via free agency, the Ravens will have a key hole to fill at wide receiver.


Get PressBox's Free Weekly Newsletter


For Sports Fans

Pregame With PressBox

Pregame with PressBox at the Purple Underground before every Baltimore home game.

Cooking With The Pros

Enjoy a mix of cooking and sports as you learn tailgating recipes alongside the pros.

Lacrosse Newsletter

Sign up for our high school lacrosse email, with interviews, matchups, recruiting and more.