navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

You have to have a valid membership to attend this event

You have to have a valid membership to attend this event

Six Terps Named To Tewaaraton Award Watch Lists

March 5, 2014

Recognizing the nation's finest 100 men's and women's collegiate lacrosse players, the Tewaaraton Foundation released its 2014 Tewaaraton Award men's and women's watch lists, presented by Panama Jack, Feb. 27. Talent from local institutions figured prominently on both sheets. The men's and women's Tewaaraton Awards will be bestowed May 29 in Washington, D.C. 

Maryland Lacrosse Terps 2014: Mike Chanenchuk
Photo Credit: Sabina Moran/PressBox

Local men's finalists include Maryland senior goalkeeper Niko Amato, Maryland senior midfielder Mike Chanenchuk, Towson senior attacker Thomas DeNapoli, Maryland senior defender Michael Ehrhardt, Loyola senior defender Joe Fletcher, UMBC sophomore attacker Nate Lewnes, Johns Hopkins junior attacker Wells Stanwick and Loyola senior attacker Justin Ward.

The women's class includes Maryland sophomore midfielder Taylor Cummings, Johns Hopkins senior attacker Taylor D'Amore, Towson junior goalkeeper Kelsea Donnelly, Navy junior attacker Loren Generi, Maryland junior attacker Brooke Griffin, Maryland junior midfielder Kelly McPartland, Loyola senior attacker/midfielder Marlee Paton, Georgetown junior attacker Caroline Tarzian, Loyola junior midfielder Taryn VanThof and Salisbury senior goalkeeper Ashton Wheatley. 

Click here to see the complete lists.

But wait, there's more.

Additions to the list will be announced March 20 and April 10. The field will be slashed to 25 men and women each April 24, and five finalists from each gender will be announced May 8.

Here are the early leaders in the Tewaaraton clubhouse.


  • Albany junior attacker Lyle Thompson
  • Albany senior attacker Miles Thompson
  • Johns Hopkins junior attacker Wells Stanwick
  • Penn State senior attacker Shane Sturgis
  • Maryland senior goalkeeper Niko Amato


  • Navy junior attacker Loren Generi
  • Maryland sophomore midfielder Taylor Cummings
  • Syracuse sophomore attacker Kayla Treanor
  • Florida junior attacker Shannon Gilroy
  • Northwestern senior attacker Alyssa Leonard

See Also: