navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

You have to have a valid membership to attend this event

You have to have a valid membership to attend this event

Maryland's Zoe Stukenberg Earns Tewaaraton Award

June 2, 2017
For the sixth straight year, a University of Maryland women's lacrosse player has won the Tewaaraton Award. Senior midfielder Zoe Stukenberg was presented with the sport's highest honor June 1 at the annual Tewaaraton Award ceremony, held at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. 

Maryland men's senior attackman Matt Rambo also won the 2017 Tewaaraton Award, giving the Terps a clean sweep in titles and Tewaaratons.

Stukenberg, who led the 2017 Maryland team to a 23-0 record and the program's third NCAA championship in four seasons, is the school's seventh Tewaaraton recipient in the past eight years. Stukenberg's former teammate, Taylor Cummings, was the first three-time winner, from 2014-2016. Katie Schwarzmann earned the Tewaaraton in 2012 and 2013, while current Terps assistant coach Caitlyn McFadden Phipps was the 2010 honoree. 

Stukenberg beat out four other finalists for the award, which is the lacrosse equivalent of college football's Heisman Trophy. In addition to Stukenberg, the finalists included her teammate, senior defender Nadine Hadnagy; North Carolina junior midfielder Marie McCool, Stony Brook junior attacker Kylie Ohlmiller and senior attacker Olivia Hompe of Princeton. 
Stukenberg, a four-year starter and two-time team captain, played a significant role in Maryland's fourth national title of the decade. Head coach Cathy Reese's Terps, who also captured NCAA crowns in 2010, 2014 and 2015, also won a third consecutive Big Ten regular-season championship and a second straight conference tournament. Maryland held the nation's top ranking for the final three months of the 2017 season. 

Stukenberg, who earned first-team Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Association All-America honors and was named the Big Ten's Midfielder of the Year, ranked among the team leaders in every statistical category. The Ellicott City, Md., native finished fourth in goals (53), third in assists (31) and second in points (84). Stukenberg led the Terps with 48 ground balls, was second in draw controls (74) and third in caused turnovers (21). 

During her Maryland career, Stukenberg was an integral part of four teams that played in NCAA championship games and posted a combined 89-3 record. Her 175 career goals rank ninth among all-time Terps. 

Stukenberg also excelled in the classroom, graduating with a 4.0 GPA. Named a third-team CoSIDA Academic All-American following her junior year, the biological sciences major was also the recipient of the NCAA's Elite 89 (2015) and Elite 90 (2016, 2017) awards for having the highest GPA of any women's lacrosse student-athlete who participated at the NCAA Final Four site. 

Stukenberg was also one of two Maryland recipients of the Big Ten's Medal of Honor, which is presented annually to one male and one female student-athlete from the graduating class of each university "who have attained the greatest proficiency in athletics and scholastic work."

Before June ends, Stukenberg again could be adding to her trophy case. She was named one of four finalists for the Honda Sport Award in women's lacrosse June 1, along with McCool, Ohlmiller and Boston College's Kenzie Kent. The prestigious award honors the top women athletes in 12 NCAA sports. The women's lacrosse winner will compete with athletes from the 11 other sports for the Honda Cup, which will be presented to the nation's top female athlete  June 26 in Los Angeles.